Login | Register |  My Account |   |   |   |  Suggest XR to your friends Print this page
Exchange Rate Home >> Currency Information >> Kenyan Shilling

   | Post | View

Kenyan Shilling Coin Kenyan Shilling Banknote

The shilling (sign: Ksh; code: KES) is the currency of Kenya. It is divisible into 100 cents.

The Kenyan shilling replaced the East African shilling in 1966 at par.

The first coins were issued in 1966 in denominations of 5, 10, 25 and 50 cents, 1 and 2 shillings. 25 cents coins were not minted after 1969, with 2 shillings coins last minted in 1971. In 1985, 5 shillings coins were introduced, followed by 10 shillings in 1994 and 20 shillings in 1998.

Between 1966 and 1978, the portrait of the first president of Kenya, Jomo Kenyatta, appeared on the obverse of all Kenya's coins. In 1980, this was replaced by a portrait of Daniel arap Moi until 2005, when a new coin series was introduced with the portrait of Kenyatta restored. The coins are 50 cents and 1 shilling in stainless steel and bi-metallic coins of 5, 10 and 20 shillings. A bi-metallic 40 shilling coin with the portrait of President Kibaki was issued in 2003 to commemorate the fortieth anniversary of independence (1963-2003).

In 1966, the Central Bank of Kenya issued notes in denominations of 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 shillings. 5 shillings notes were replaced by coins in 1985, with the same happening to 10 and 20 shillings in 1994 and 1998. In 1986, 200 shillings notes were introduced, followed by 500 shillings in 1988 and 1000 shillings in 1994.

As with the coins, Mzee Jomo Kenyatta appeared on the banknotes issued until 1978, with Daniel arap Moi's portrait replacing him in 1980. In 2003, after Mwai Kibaki replaced Moi as president, 5, 10, and 20 shilling notes from the 1978 series with Kenyatta's picture that had been in storage were issued, and circulated for a time. A new series of notes was then introduced on which Kenyatta reappeared with denominations of 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 shilling. The issue of 12 December 2003 commemorates the "40 years of Independence 1963-2003". The banknotes are printed in Nairobi by De La Rue.

The text on this page has been made available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License and Creative Commons Licenses

Got something to say on this page? Feel free to post your comments ! Please limit your comments to discussions about the subject matter of the content. To report bugs or problems with the web site, please use our contact form here. Thank You!

Content, information, data, material, services, or products comprising this web-site may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without written permission from Inc.. The information supplied by this web-site is believed to be accurate, but Inc. does not warrant or guarantee such accuracy. Users are always advised to verify information with their financial and accounting advisors or with the appropriate government agencies before relying on any such information. Information contained in this web-site is intended for your personal, non-commercial use. All other uses are expressly unauthorized and prohibited to the maximum extent allowed by law.
Copyright © Inc. 1998 - 2020